Materials from Summer Institute: Educators Matter! Resources for Changing Times

Keeping students and yourself healthy as school environments rapidly change is a challenge! The Healthy & Safe Schools Summer Institute 2016 offers a 2-day professional development immersion into the challenges of student substance abuse, behavioral health needs, concussions, eating disorders, social media and othe trending education topics.

Summer Institiute Materials

Educators Matter! Summer Institute Program

June 1, 2016

Keynote: “Why Poverty Matters to our Children, Families and Schools” - PDF

Session 1

Understanding Poverty: An Interactive Workshop - PDF
Bonnie Bazata, M.A., Program Manager, Ending Poverty Now, Pima County
bonnie.bazata@pima.gov

Invisible Wounds: Understanding and Working with the Traumatized Student - PDF
Beverly Tobiason, Psy.D., Clinical Director, Pima County Juvenile Court Center
Beverly.tobiason@pcjcc.pima.gov

Nurturing the Talents & Meeting the Needs of Refugee Students - PDF
Julie Kasper, NBCT, M.A.Ed., School Coordinator & Center Director, K12 Refugee Education
jkasper@refugeefocus.org

Positive Interactions with Parents
John Carruth, Assistant Superintendent, Vail Unified School District

Session 2

What Our Students Are Doing: Awareness and Prevention of Teen Substance Abuse
Raul A. Munoz, BS, Program Coordinator, Pima County Health Dept.
raulmunoz@pima.gov

Do We Still Need to Talk about Multiculturalism and Achievement?
Dr. Roxana Samaniego PhD, Clinical Psychologist, Community Partnership Care Coordination
Roxana.Samaniego@communitypartnersinc.org

The Role of School Personnel in Concussion Management - PDF
Patricia Beldotti, Psy.D., Director of Neuropsychology
pbeldotti@tucsonconcussioncenter.com

Carisa Rucci, Ph.D., AT Navigator, Tucson Concussion Center
craucci@tucsonconcussioncenter.com

Roundtable Discussions

Using ESSA to Promote Health!
Brian Eller, Director, Coordinated School Health Program, Pima County Health Dept.
brian.eller@pima.gov

Parents Creating Change
Stacy Winstryg , Darcy Mentone, Callie Tippett of the Vail Parent Network Steering Committee, Vail School District
vailparentnetwork@gmail.com

Taming Anxiety: Tools for Improving Student Outcomes
Janet Summers, M.ED, LPC, LMFT, President SummerSmith, Inc.
jsummers@summersmith.com

Helping Students Find Their Passion, Their Work
Nils Urman, MBA, CEcD, Program Manager, Business Services, Pima One Stop
nils.urman@pima.gov

Session 3

Before You Call 911: Regional Behavioral Health Authority & Crisis System 101 - PDF
Michael Johnson, Community & Events Coordinator, Cenpatico Integrated Care
michajohnson@cenpatico.com

Polly Knape, Supervisor,
First Responder Services, Cenpatico Integrated Care

Make Your Classroom Fun!
Brian Eller, Director, Coordinated School Health Program, Pima County Health Dept.
brian.eller@pima.gov

Typical or Troubled? A Look at Adolescent Behaviors - PDF
Cynthia Ruich, Ed.D., Director of Student Services, Marana Unified School District
c.t.ruich@maranausd.org

Youth Self-Harm and Suicide
Cherie Everett, M.Ed., LPC, Director of Outpatient Services, Palo Verde Behavioral Health

June 2, 2016

Panel Discussion: Social Media & Schools
Catherine F. Brooks, PhD, Professor of Information and Communication, Director, Center for Digital Society and Data Studies, and Associate Director, School of Information, UA
cfbrooks@email.arizona.edu

Courtney Bennett, Outreach, Arizona Attorney General’s Office
courtney.bennett@azag.gov

Daniela Siqueiros, Communications Coordinator, Office of the Pima County School Superintendent
daniela.siqueiros@schools.pima.gov

Session 1

Keeping School Counseling a Positive Process for Everyone: Solution-Focused Brief Counseling
Kathleen “K.C.” Conner, M.Ed, LAC, School Counselor, Gallego Intermediate School, Sunnyside Unified School District
kathleenc@susd12.org

Where Pink Meets Blue: Creating a Safe Community for Transgender Youth - Zip File | PDF
Andrew Cronyn, MD, Pediatrician, El Rio Community Health Center
AndrewC@elrio.org

Kerrie Green, MSW, Senior Program Supervisor, Healthy Families
kgreen@cfraz.org

Mindfulness Tools for the Classroom: Fun Ways to Help Students (and YOU) Relax, Focus, and Connect - PDF
Jordan Wiley-Hill, Director, The Mindfulness Exchange
jordan@mindfuledex.com

IMPACT: Influence, Motivation, Passion, Achievement, Commitment, Together: Creating Kinetic Student Connections
Tricia Peña, Ed.D, Education Consultant
tricia@echo360education.com

Deborah Sather, Ph. D, Trainer, E.C.H.O. 360 Education Consulting & Training
deborah@echo360education.com

Session 2

On the Cutting Edge: Emerging Career Opportunities in Pima County
Javier Herrera, Program Manager, Pima County Health Dept.
Jan Lesher, Deputy Administrator for Community and Health Services, Tucson
Greg Wilson, Dean of Business, Occupational and Professional Programs, Pima Community College
Mark Kerr, Chief of Staff, Ward 5, Tucson City Council Office

Challenging Behaviors in the Classroom: Why Do You See Them and What Do You Do? - Zip File
Maryann Judkins, Ed.D., Assistant Professor of Research, University of Arizona
emscconsult@gmail.com

Preparing Undocumented Students for Career and College
Staff, Scholarships A-Z

STUDENT VOICE! The Missing Piece in Creating Positive Climate Change - PDF
Barbara J. Wayne, M.Ed., Retired Principal, TUSD
bjwayne@comcast.net

Session 3

Universal Behavior Screening: A Proactive and Systemic Approach to Behavioral Intervention - PDF
Colleen Frederick, M. Ed., Principal
c.b.frederick@maranausd.org

Matt Abney, M. Ed., Assistant Principal, Estes Elementary School, MUSD
m.b.abney@maranausd.org

Eating Disorders: Promoting, Prevention, and Resilience
Richard Wahl, MD, Director of Adolescent Medicine, Professor of Pediatrics, Banner University of Arizona Medical Center,
rwahl@peds.arzona.edu

Janet Summers, M.Ed, LPC, LMFT, President SummerSmith, Inc
jsummers@summersmith.com

Diane Ryan MA, LPC Executive Director, Mirasol
dffryan@hotmail.com

Katie Klein, MS Clinical Director, Mirasol
katielklein@gmail.com

Don’t Take MY Word For It! Career and College Readiness – What the Research/Data Says…
Kirk Perrini, M.C., NCC, LPC, Director of Counseling, Pima JTED
KPerrini@pimajted.org


Thank you to our Sponsors!

Excellence Sponsor

UA Links

Supporting Sponsors

Eating Recovery Center

Hughes Federal Credit Union

La Frontera

Mirasol

Vantage West

Friend of Healthy & Safe Schools

Pima County JTED